Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 11-13-2014, 04:32 PM   #1
4 Rivet Member

Longport , New Jersey
The psychology of a trucker and driving techniques

I'd like to preface this post with the statement: I am a rookie having just done my first trip to pick up our airstream. It was a long one, 1200 miles from Orlando to New Jersey. For the most part it was very smooth, however the scariest element of the trip was dealing with all the trucks and their different driving styles.

Some of the truckers were courteous, in control and not threatening in anyway. others seem to be trying to run us off the road.

I was constantly checking my rearview mirror's in anticipation of oncoming trucks and other passing vehicles. I was doing my best to be aware the entire time. I found that if I knew a truck was coming I was better prepared to deal with these road Giants approaching us at different speeds.

Generally I could tell if a truck might challenge me in some way. If they appeared to be approaching very fast in the rearview I knew that it was going to rock my nerves a bit. Thankfully our anti-sway weight distribution system helped out a ton.

Trucks that were approaching me aggressively were the ones that shook me up the most some of them were not tracking straight and even drifted into my lane a little bit which I found incredibly unnerving with my entire family in the car.

I am not advising anybody to do this as I have no experience, but I did quickly learned that if I stood my ground on the left side of my lane, they would give me more room as they passed.

I assume they looked at me like someone with an airstream having no idea what he was doing in giving me a wide berth. When I did nothing and stayed in the middle of my lane they would use I'll be available real estate which was causing me a lot of stress.