Old 06-30-2004, 11:43 PM   #1
Cosmic Sniper
Newbie looking at Vintage AS

I've enjoyed reading the archives here, but now I need some help.

I came close to purchasing a new 25' Safari 6 sleeper today, but I decided at the last minute to explore older options first. Being a newbie, I want to make sure that I'm doing the right thing. What I do know is that I love Airstreams and will always have one. I know all the towing "rules" and stuff, but I don't have a great feel for the value of some of the vintage Airstream models.

I saw a classified today for a 1973 Airstream 29' Ambassador. The owner sent me pictures and it looks almost like new, inside and out. He says everything works in it. But the ad has been posted for three weeks and nobody has snapped it up for his $5,000 asking price. I'm wondering what could be keeping this from being sold? This Airstream is probably around 3 hours from me, so it wouldn't hurt me to check it out before dishing out the cash, but I'm curious to know if this model has some reputation that might keep the price low?

My towing vehicle is a 1999 Tahoe 4x4 with the 5.7L Vortec and 3.73 rear axle. I realize that a 29er is a stretch (which is why I was looking at new 25ers), but I'm not married to upgrading my TV.

Thank you...any advice is greatly appreciated.

jay52 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2004, 12:57 AM   #2
Rivet Master

1956 22' Safari
Vintage Kin Owner
Conifer/Evergreen , Colorado
Thumbs up First off...Welcome to the Forums!

You may want to check out the website below for some pricing guidelines and suggestions on what to ask & look for with vintage trailers...

Price vs Condition

With the longer '70s trailers the 'biggie' to keep an eye out for is rear end separation or droop. If you do a search of the forum you'll find lots of discussions on the problem & solutions.

Good luck with your quest for the 'perfect for you' Airstream!

Vintage Airstream Club - Past President 2007/2008