Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 12-24-2016, 04:24 PM   #1
2 Rivet Member

Currently Looking...
Seattle , Washington
Newbie Advice (Tow Hitch/Towing/Other Essentials)?

My wife and I are getting a new Basecamp next month, and a 2017 Jeep Grand Cherokee Ltd. 4x4 as our tow vehicle. This will be our first trailer (after two years of vacationing with our dog in a small CruiseAmerica rental RV convinced us to take the plunge...). We are complete newbies, and have never towed anything before in our lives. So we are looking for newbie advice on any/all topics, and would love any suggestions that you may have for us.

Topic #1 for us is of course towing logistics, so we can get our trailer home and start using it (without being a total hazard). Our Jeep has the factory tow package w/ 2" receiver hitch and wiring, etc. What do we need in order to connect and tow the Basecamp (yes, we are TOTAL newbies...)? Any advice on learning how to tow a trailer, and maybe practicing with a U-Haul trailer before we get our BC?

We'd also love recommendations on other key equipment - such as a tow hitch lock for the Basecamp, a generator, will we want auto-leveling jacks, anything we'll want to consider for rear-view mirrors, backup camera, etc.?

We need to know pretty much everything, so please don't be shy with your ideas/recommendations! :-)

Thank you - and happy holidays!
Diocletian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2016, 05:15 PM   #2
Rivet Master

2014 23' Flying Cloud
Fair Oaks , California
Newbie Advice (Tow Hitch/Towing/Other Essentials)?

Hi, and welcome to the forum!