Old 07-08-2003, 09:43 AM   #1
1 Rivet Member

Question "New" 1969 Safari question...

Hello and Good Morning...

I'm new to this site (and to Airstreams...) and I have a quick question.

My wife and I are in the process of buying a 1969 Safari. We should have the title this afternoon. I've gone to the Airstream company site and picked up the Dry Weight (3860#), hitch wieght (420#) and the Hitch Ball height (19"). What I can't find for sure is the hitch ball size.

I've seen a couple of posts saying that A/S switched to the 2 5/8" ball in 1969 with the new body style and I've talked to the previous owner who says he's pulled it with a 2" ball for the last two years.

The hitch coupler on the trailer doesn't look like any I've seen (though I'm no expert.) ...It has two "spring-looking-things" leading down eash part of the frame for about 6 or 8 inches. These are pretty heavy duty springs (1/4" steel, or thereabout.) The current owner thinks they may be some sort of antique sway control...though he admits that's just a guess.

I'm having my truck (2001 Ford Explorer Sport Trac) fitted with the hitch/receiver tomorrow morning, so I'm more than idly curious.

Here are my questions:

Did the 1969 Safari come with a 2" or 2 5/8" coupler?

If somebody had the coupler modified, is it likely they went from 2 5/8" down to 2"?

Could the current owner have towed the trailer several hundred miles with the wrong ball? (And, if so, what, if any, damage might have happened?)

How can I tell what size is the right size for the coupler?

Thanks for any insight.

Bob Boucneau
Denver

ps: Are there any Year-Specific concerns I should have? Any "gotcha's" ?? Thanks again. -B

Old 07-08-2003, 10:08 AM   #2
Just a member

1978 28' Argosy 28
Tampa Bay , Florida
Send a message via AIM to thenewkid64 Send a message via Yahoo to thenewkid64 Send a message via Skype™ to thenewkid64
Welcome to the forum!