Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Community Forums > Our Community
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 06-06-2009, 06:23 PM   #1
3 Rivet Member

1968 26' Overlander
Durham , North Carolina
My stupid question...

Hi all,

I'm totally new to Airstream and the camping lifestyle and therefore my question may seem odd. My wife and I have been discussing camping and that we both think we would enjoy it. I've looked at several Airstreams and found a 1968 Airstream International Overlander. It appears to be in good+ condition and 26' seems to be a good size for towing. I'm ready to pull the trigger on this Airstream but have a curiousity. We have visited several campgrounds in the NC mountains and we have yet to see a single Airstream in the campgrounds or even on the highways. I would think that there would be some Airstreams camping in the mountains. Where do you guys/gals go?

We are thinking that we want to have short excursions to the mountains and/or the coast. We don't want a camper to park in a single spot and visit on weekends. Is that how most of you use your Airstreams? What campgrounds do you find that you like the most? KOA??

Please forgive my ignorance but it was bugging me that I've never seen an Airstream actually camping. Granted I only recently started paying attention to them.

Thanks,

Pete
North Carolina
goswick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2009, 06:31 PM   #2
Rivet Master

1999 23' Safari
Perrysburg , Ann Arbor
There are not so many Airstreams as SOB [some other brand] trailers out there, so you won't see so many ... but you should go to an Airstream Rally - there, you'll see a lot! What you are likely to see, it a lot more OLDER Airstreams than SOBs, 'cause they tend to last, people tend to take good care of them, and they often get restored.