Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 07-18-2004, 12:09 AM   #1
a.k.a. Ambassador Tim
 
Safari Tim's Avatar
 
1960 28' Ambassador
Northern , California
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 1,921
Images: 35
Talking Look at what I did today.

My brother gave me an RV 30 amp outlet and box with about 70 feet of #8 wire.

I did not want to crawl under my house to run the wire myself because its only about 14" of clearance and wet and muddy.

We have a problem with standing water during the winter months and now in July it is still muddy.

I had an electrician come by about a month ago to give me a quote on installing the RV plug. We also talked about a sump pump and wiring for that to address my wet crawl space problem.

He commented that he would do the job but did not want to dig the hole for the sump pump bucket. Said that I would have to do that.

After about a month waiting to hear his quote I decded that if I had to go under the house myself to dig the pit, I might as well run the wiring myself.

So that is what I did today. After being under the house for about 4 hours, I ran the #8 for the RV plug, ran #12 for the sump pump circuit, and dug a hole an installed a sump pump with float switch under the house. All in 14" of work area

All is done execpt the actual wiring at the breakers box. Which I'm sure I can handle, but my cousin has done much more of this than me so I think I will let him do the hookup.

Here are some pics of the RV plug I finished wiring and mounted. The black hose on the bottom is the outlet for the sump pump.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	box1.jpg
Views:	293
Size:	8.2 KB
ID:	7815   Click image for larger version

Name:	box2.jpg
Views:	303
Size:	9.5 KB
ID:	7816  

__________________

__________________
-Tim
1960 International Ambassador 28'
2001 Silverado 2500HD CC 6.0L 4.10
Check out my book: Restoring a Dream
Check out my Airstream book for kids!: Airstream Adventures
theVAP - Airstream Podcast
Safari Tim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2004, 12:15 AM   #2
Rivet Master
 
JohnG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 541
Nice installation Tim.

I have thought about doing the same but I, like you, have a small muddy crawl space and in my part of the country it's not unusual to run into a snake in your crawl space. Guess for now I will keep thinking of other things.
__________________

__________________
Just adding my 2 worth

John G
___________________________
1975 31ft Sovereign International
........Rear Bath Double Bed Model
Tow Vehicle:1999 GMC Serria SLE Classic 1500 5.7Ltr
System: Jordon 2020 Ultima Brake Controller
Hook-Up: Equalizing Hitch and Sway Bar
JohnG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2004, 12:23 AM   #3
Rivet Master
 
BobbyW's Avatar
 
1965 20' Globetrotter
Currently Looking...
Houston , Texas
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 1,002
Images: 9
You will really enjoy having the proper connection handy for your Airstream.

I was given mine my a neighbor whose church used to have RV hook-ups for traveling evangelists. When they enlarged their parking lot, they pulled up 4 of these connections with 150' of cable on each of them and tossed them in storage. He was over at the house one day and commented about all the cords I had scattered all over the driveway. Next thing I knew we were running cable through the attic and mounting the box on the side of my house. I had an electrician come out and terminate it for us. I hang an outdoor GFI pig-tail on it and use it to run the A/C in the Airstream now.
__________________
BobbyW
AIR# 123

-"You want to make it two inches - or, if you're working in centimeters, make sure it's enough centimeters for two inches."-Red Green
BobbyW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2004, 01:39 AM   #4
a.k.a. Ambassador Tim
 
Safari Tim's Avatar
 
1960 28' Ambassador
Northern , California
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 1,921
Images: 35
JohnG - Snakes! Guess I was lucky. Didn't see any of them

BobbyW - Through the attic eh... That would have been quite a run for me with my two story and the circuit box in the garage At least I got my sump pump setup now, so that's done.

What is this GFI pig tail you speak of? Is it good for 30 amps?
__________________
-Tim
1960 International Ambassador 28'
2001 Silverado 2500HD CC 6.0L 4.10
Check out my book: Restoring a Dream
Check out my Airstream book for kids!: Airstream Adventures
theVAP - Airstream Podcast
Safari Tim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2004, 06:26 AM   #5
Moderator Emeritus
 
Pick's Avatar
 
1972 31' Sovereign
High Springs , Florida
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 2,310
Images: 36
Send a message via AIM to Pick
I've been fortunate, in that the previous owner of my new house had installed a #10 line out to the well pump area with 30 amp breaker. I would like to extend it another 250', so I can park the A/S down in a park like area under the shade. This will involve trenching, to extend water and electric. I will need to go to #6 wire because of the distance. I would not have to worry about allowing a few gallons of grey water to escape at that distance from the well, something I would not even dream of doing now.
__________________
ARS WA8ZYT
2003 GMC 2500HD 4X4 D/A Ext. Cab
Propane Powered Honda EU2000i
Lots of Hot Sauce!
Air # 283
WBCCI 1350
Pick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2004, 07:00 AM   #6
Rivet Master
 
BobbyW's Avatar
 
1965 20' Globetrotter
Currently Looking...
Houston , Texas
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 1,002
Images: 9
Can't find an exact photo, but similar to this one except mine is a 30 amp. The one pictured is a 20 amp. I have been shocked so many times that I have become almost paranoid. Since my Globetrotter is totally isolated from the ground, I don't want to be the human wire that completes the circuit.

(pictured: 20amp inline
(GFI) Ground Fault Interrupt)
__________________
BobbyW
AIR# 123

-"You want to make it two inches - or, if you're working in centimeters, make sure it's enough centimeters for two inches."-Red Green
BobbyW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2004, 10:15 AM   #7
a.k.a. Ambassador Tim
 
Safari Tim's Avatar
 
1960 28' Ambassador
Northern , California
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 1,921
Images: 35
Quote:
Originally Posted by BobbyW
Can't find an exact photo, but similar to this one except mine is a 30 amp. The one pictured is a 20 amp. I have been shocked so many times that I have become almost paranoid. Since my Globetrotter is totally isolated from the ground, I don't want to be the human wire that completes the circuit.
That's an interesting device. Handy because you can take it with you, like when your camping.

Even still if your regularly getting shocked from your trailer, you should investigate that

I use a multimeter when ever we are camping to check the voltage. Then I use one of those polarity checkers on a dog bone adapter to check for correct wiring.

The one pictured is $8 from Home Depot.
Attached Images
 
__________________
-Tim
1960 International Ambassador 28'
2001 Silverado 2500HD CC 6.0L 4.10
Check out my book: Restoring a Dream
Check out my Airstream book for kids!: Airstream Adventures
theVAP - Airstream Podcast
Safari Tim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2004, 10:20 AM   #8
a.k.a. Ambassador Tim
 
Safari Tim's Avatar
 
1960 28' Ambassador
Northern , California
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 1,921
Images: 35
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pick
I've been fortunate, in that the previous owner of my new house had installed a #10 line out to the well pump area with 30 amp breaker. I would like to extend it another 250', so I can park the A/S down in a park like area under the shade.
That sounds like it would be very nice. Camping in your own back yard.
__________________
-Tim
1960 International Ambassador 28'
2001 Silverado 2500HD CC 6.0L 4.10
Check out my book: Restoring a Dream
Check out my Airstream book for kids!: Airstream Adventures
theVAP - Airstream Podcast
Safari Tim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2004, 01:26 PM   #9
Rivet Master
 
BobbyW's Avatar
 
1965 20' Globetrotter
Currently Looking...
Houston , Texas
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 1,002
Images: 9
Quote:
Originally Posted by BobbyW
I have been shocked so many times that I have become almost paranoid.
Never been shocked from my Globetrotter, just during my lifetime. Since discovering GFI's I just use them religiously. When I had my last 2 home's electrical worked on, I have had them put everywhere that I thought they would help, even if code did require them. Cheap insurance.
__________________
BobbyW
AIR# 123

-"You want to make it two inches - or, if you're working in centimeters, make sure it's enough centimeters for two inches."-Red Green
BobbyW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2004, 01:42 PM   #10
Aluminut
 
Silvertwinkie's Avatar
 
2004 25' Safari
. , Illinois
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 10,334
I too have the box and gear...just need the wire and the time to install the 30a. When I had the electric done in the garage (before I owned and RV), I had them place a 2" pipe between the house and the detached garage.

My house doesn't have a basement, so the RV is my quasi basment/retreat. Be nice to run the A/C unit in the summer!
__________________
Silvertwinkie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2004, 04:18 PM   #11
Rivet Master
 
garry's Avatar
 
1969 31' Sovereign
Broken Arrow , Oklahoma
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 1,362
Images: 7
Installed mine last week and worst part by far was the crawling under the house. It is nice not having the wire under the door or out the window
I installed a 30A breaker but thinking of going back to a 20A.

Garry
__________________
garry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2004, 07:29 PM   #12
a.k.a. Ambassador Tim
 
Safari Tim's Avatar
 
1960 28' Ambassador
Northern , California
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 1,921
Images: 35
Quote:
Originally Posted by garry
Installed mine last week and worst part by far was the crawling under the house. It is nice not having the wire under the door or out the window
I installed a 30A breaker but thinking of going back to a 20A.

Garry
That's what I figured Gary. That's why when the electrician said I would have to dig my own hole for the sump pump, I decided just do the whole thing myself and save some $$$.

Wondering why you would want to go back to a 20 amp breaker? As long as you have 10 gage or bigger wire, with the 30 amp plug, what would the benefit be going with a 20A breaker?
__________________

__________________
-Tim
1960 International Ambassador 28'
2001 Silverado 2500HD CC 6.0L 4.10
Check out my book: Restoring a Dream
Check out my Airstream book for kids!: Airstream Adventures
theVAP - Airstream Podcast
Safari Tim is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
True story ~ It happened today!! John Off Topic Forum 14 01-08-2008 01:19 PM
Waiting for delivery today... Xray Our Community 36 05-17-2004 08:36 AM
Airstream sighting--AZ Star today Kistler Airstream "In the News" 7 02-15-2004 12:50 PM
Picked up the 59 today!!!! 59toaster Our Community 9 02-16-2003 04:16 PM
So I looked at a trailer today..... Chuck Our Community 6 06-05-2002 07:43 PM


Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:39 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

Airstream is a registered trademark of Airstream Inc. All rights reserved. Airstream trademark used under license to Social Knowledge LLC.