Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 07-18-2015, 12:28 PM   #1
1 Rivet Member

2015 20' Flying Cloud
Huntington beach , CALIFORNIA
How to light stove ?

Im a newbie and am trying to light stove for the first time. What do i do. I turned on propane tanks , and nothing works. The dial thing is green as dealer told me tanks were full is their another valve that needs to be open? Both tanks are wide open and i have swithced dial to both sides with no luck. Any help would be awesome thanks
Hbjason is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2015, 12:45 PM   #2
Rivet Master

2006 25' Safari
St. Augustine , Florida
Make sure the LP has dissipated (you said you have been turning the knob back and forth. They do not start up on their own but gas does release)

OK, I went through this same thing. On my stove here is how it works, get a propane wand lighter if possible (it makes it easier- see below) they are usually sold in a 3-pack or some such. Locate the pilot orifice. It is under the solid plate inside the oven and looks like an L shaped pipe in the middle closer to the back. You will probably have to get down on your knees and a flashlight will help you the first time to locate it. At the stove, turn the knob to pilot- push in on the knob and hold it in for about 3 seconds before attempting to light the pilot burner to get the air out. If your knob has a light setting then dial it there and push in and hold it in place while you attempt to light the burner. You might have to try 2-3 times before it lights. Once lit, turn the oven to a temperature and the actual burner inside lights up around the perimeter. Have fun cooking, just don't get singed! Did you get it lit?