A friend of mine has been chatting back and forth about this bambi that 'was' listed on the Kijiji site. Does this belong to anyone on the board by chance? An obvious scam or just a huge pricing oversite.
The final price with shipping included is 3,500 USD, you will have to cover the payment fee ( about 150 USD ) and I will cover the shipping! The trailer will be delivered by DAS Shipping Company insured in 2 days from the departure.
It will be delivered in the best conditions. You will receive along with the trailer all the papers and receipts that you need to register it on your name.
You will also receive the title, keys, owner manual... It has a Clear Title and all are in Showroom Condition.
So if you are really interested in purchasing the trailer please send me your full name, shipping address and your phone number. After that I will open a case with eBay & kijiji regarding our deal.
They will notify you all the details about the shipping and payment.
Have a nice day!
From: "sarah jones" <sara7j@verizonmail.com>
Date: Fri, 28 Mar 2008 04:52:38
To:.......
Subject: Re: Reply to your
"2005 Airstream 19 ft Bambi Travel Trailer"
Ad on Kijiji
Hi ,
Thank you for your interest in purchasing my trailer. First of all I
must inform you that currently I'm in NY ( USA ) where I'm staying
with my son and his wife. My son had a heart attack and needs a
triple bypass, and this is why I decided to move here to help my
daughter in law to take care of him. He may not make it after the
operation so I have to stay here. The trailer is in perfect working
condition with nothing mechanically wrong - Like New! It was used
only for a few times and it has always been kept in the garage.
Safety check and pre-delivery inspection along with a fresh
servicing before I ship or deliver the trailer. The title is clear
and I have already signed a release for the title to be transferred.
You'll also receive all the papers required for registration , owner
manual, keys, a buy-sell contract already signed by me.
The trailer is at eBay's Shipping Center . They will handle the
transaction for me. You will make the payment to eBay and they will
hold the money until you receive the trailer. The amount you will
have to pay in order to own the trailer is 3,500 USD with shipping
costs and insurance included.
If you really want to buy my trailer please e-mail me back as soon
as posible .
Best Regards!
__________________
Team Ironcops for Cancer 2006 Raced! Ironman Canada in support of the Canadian Cancer Society www.ironcopsforcancer.com
We raised over 1.3 Million dollars for Cancer Reseach this year. Great job team!!
This is such an obvious scam that I can't believe that your friend is even talking to the "owner". $3,500 for a trailer that should go for $20,000+. Then to add free delivery?
There is no ebay shipping center.
There is no son in NY that needs a triple bypass.
I am sure the "seller" will need some upfront money to cover his shipping expenses.
Tell your friend to run away from this deal as quickly as possible.
This email has much of the language that I have started seeing in a lot of the scam stuff: New in the US, some crisis(Heart condition), the way they describe the shipping process, Low price in USD, too good to be true IMO.
Or, you could get lucky.
__________________ AIR #15800
"Wimpy" 1/2 ton 2002 GMC Sierra 4X4 Z-71 Gasser
2000 Safari SS 25'
Just to clarify, he's not actually thinking that this is legit. We've been laughing about the emails most of the morning. Should have clarified that in the first post.
Richard, I said the same thing about the ebay shipping centre but apparently there is one: Welcome to the Shipping Center
__________________
Team Ironcops for Cancer 2006 Raced! Ironman Canada in support of the Canadian Cancer Society www.ironcopsforcancer.com
We raised over 1.3 Million dollars for Cancer Reseach this year. Great job team!!
SCAM - why if you have such a low set price would you make an ad online????? Someone in your town would offer up that much for it - or use it as colateral in a loan.....
Richard, I said the same thing about the ebay shipping centre but apparently there is one: Welcome to the Shipping Center
That shipping center is just a collection of tools to help sellers ship their items. It is just bits on a hard drive somewhere is cyberspace, just like the trailer in the ad.
My favorite part is the nonchalance with which he describes his imaginary son's condition. "Ya know... might make it, prolly won't. Whatevs, life goes on!"
Although if my father were selling a trailer in such great shape, I'd need a triple bypass too!
Just to clarify, he's not actually thinking that this is legit. We've been laughing about the emails most of the morning. Should have clarified that in the first post.
Good...I was concerned!
Quote:
Originally Posted by bradk
Richard, I said the same thing about the ebay shipping centre but apparently there is one: Welcome to the Shipping Center
Uh, yeah...I wanna ship that Bambi to Canada using UPS ~ shipping is included, right?!
Shari
__________________ Vintage Airstream Club - Past President 2007/2008 WBCCI #1824 - DenCO Unit Past President (2005) AIR #30 - Join Date: 2-25-2002
Good...I was concerned! Uh, yeah...I wanna ship that Bambi to Canada using UPS ~ shipping is included, right?!
Shari
Only in a bubble envelope...I can only imagine the brokerage fees on that
The point of it is that there IS an ebay shipping centre (which cleared up Richard's comment), I didn't realize that I would have to qualify that I didn't actually think that the ebay shipping centre would ship a trailer in a box to Canada. Lol C'mon people.
What I would like to know is if any members here own this trailer or this picture as that would be a good way to ensure "sarah" doesn't hook someone with this.
b.
__________________
Team Ironcops for Cancer 2006 Raced! Ironman Canada in support of the Canadian Cancer Society www.ironcopsforcancer.com
We raised over 1.3 Million dollars for Cancer Reseach this year. Great job team!!
I'm just giving you a hard time based on the earlier UPS/Canada thread...I would be very disappointed if anybody here on the forums actually fell for that scam ~ it's not the first time this sort of thing have been toyed with here.
Shari
__________________ Vintage Airstream Club - Past President 2007/2008 WBCCI #1824 - DenCO Unit Past President (2005) AIR #30 - Join Date: 2-25-2002