Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Community Forums > Our Community
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 11-11-2014, 02:09 AM   #1
3 Rivet Member

benicia , California
Do you drink the water at RV parks?

Total newbie question because I am a total newbie. I've read that I should use a white hose for fresh water but does that mean the park's water is drinkable? Even when I stay in hotels I drink bottled water. If you don't drink it, do you cook with it or is it just showers, washing dishes and flushing the john?
cantdrv55 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2014, 03:49 AM   #2
Rivet Master

1977 31' Sovereign
1963 26' Overlander
1989 34' Excella
Johnsburg , Illinois
We carry a 2 1/2 gallon water from home. Use it to drink and cook when quality is questionable. Most Midwest state campgrounds have acceptable water. Bottle water is getting cheaper at most big box stores.
dwightdi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2014, 04:50 AM   #3
Rivet Monster

1975 31' Sovereign
1980 31' Excella II
Sprung Leak , North Carolina
We use the campground water supply for showering and washing up. Drinking and cooking water comes from home, or if on the road for any extended length of time we may buy gallons of drinking water. In addition all campground water gets filtered by an external filter first. We had one campground where the iron levels were so high that we threw the filter out after a weeks stay.

Aaron
WBCCI #XXXX AIR #2495
Why are we in this basket...and where are we going
wahoonc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2014, 05:13 AM   #4
Rivet Master

2007 30' Classic
Oswego , Illinois
Yes

"If the women don't find you handsome, they should at least find you handy." - Red Green
dznf0g is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2014, 05:39 AM   #5
Rivet Master

2020 28' Flying Cloud