Old 05-31-2004, 03:02 PM   #1

Lightbulb Did you get an Airstream from your parents?

Hi everyone. I'm a writer working on a magazine piece about people who got their first Airstream from their parents/grandparents (you don't need to still have it). Could be for a gift, or perhaps you inherited it.

If you'd like to talk to me for possible inclusion in my story, please e-mail me directly at Robdoc@startribune.com or give me a call at home at 612-722-1124 (Minneapolis, MN, but you don't need to be from area). Thank you very much.

--Robyn

Old 05-31-2004, 06:51 PM   #2
Rivet Master

1967 26' Overlander
Huntsville , Alabama
Quote:
Originally Posted by Robdoc
Hi everyone. I'm a writer working on a magazine piece about people who got their first Airstream from their parents/grandparents (you don't need to still have it). Could be for a gift, or perhaps you inherited it...
I got mine from my uncle. While probably not worth a story, I have fond memories of the event.

Tom

Old 05-31-2004, 10:17 PM   #3
Rivet Master

1958 30' Sovereign of the Road
Plymouth , New York
Send a message via Skype™ to robandzoe
Because of my Grandfather

I got mine because of my Grandfather. Growing up, I would always play in my grandfather's 67 Airstream. He had a 61 and then a 67. I always wanted it, but never told him. In 1990, he sold it for $1500 and the guy that bought it took off after paying initial $300 and then never another dime. It's since been junked. In 1998, my grandfather passed away, and I bought my 1985 34' Limited in his memory. I'm slowly updating it, but am living in it full time, with his Blue Beret haning here in the galley. A few weeks ago, my Aunts gave me pictures of them and my grandfather at 1962 / 63 Rallies in Florida, as they would go south every winter from New York. So, no, I did not get my Airstream from my parents, or family, I got it because of them! Airstreaming skipped a generation (my Aunts and Uncles) but I'm fully into it!

Rob