Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 12-23-2003, 12:52 AM   #1
2 Rivet Member

choices choices

I am a newbie member of this organization and have never owned a trailer. I have very recently retired and my wife and I are ready for some adventures on land. After much deliberation on choices between a trailer, motorhome, or fifth wheel, we have decided on a trailer. As I am a recreational auto restorer, presently doing a '60 olds bubble, I am attracted to the silver airstream which has caught my attention, however, I need help with the basics on model selection.

I am somewhat limited in that my tow vehicle, at present, is a '93 buick roadmaster wagon with a towing capacity of 5000lbs. My only other requirement is that it should sleep 4, and have a rear bedroom, as I have spent many nights in a sailboat that required a bed to be made up each night and have had enough of that process.

I expect I will be limited to about a 24' or 25' model due to the load restrictions. I do not mind some restoration and would actually prefer a wood interior although that is not a requirement. Any help on how to start my search for a suitable model will be appreciated.

Here's wishing all you airstream vets out there a happy and safe holiday season!!
technautica is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2003, 01:46 AM   #2
Rivet Master

1956 22' Safari
2015 27' Flying Cloud
Vintage Kin Owner
Conifer/Evergreen , Colorado
First off...welcome to the Forum!

It sounds like you would be a perfect candidate for a pre-'69 TradeWind or Overlander to me. These would range in the 24'-26' range and being '68 or older would have primarily wood interiors. The 70's models start incorporating alot of vinyl interiors and cabinets. Wood cabinetry does come back in the 80's, however these trailers will be much heavier. The older trailers are going to be lighter than newer models of the same length.