Old 02-20-2003, 01:37 AM   #1
5 rivets, 1 loose screw

1966 20' Globetrotter
Saginaw County , Michigan
Exclamation Asbestos concern in vintage A/S

I see a lot of posts here about repairing or replacing floors in vintage A/S's but very few cautions about asbestos that was used in many of the older A/S floor tiles. I think it would be a good idea if someone could post the years asbestos was used and the proper protective gear to use when working with and disposing of such. An ounce of prevention....etc...etc.
Asbestosis is a very serious matter.

Old 02-20-2003, 02:21 AM   #2
Rivet Master

1956 22' Safari
Vintage Kin Owner
Conifer/Evergreen , Colorado
I don't intend to either downplay or alarm folks with regards to asbestos...just inform. As a commercial interior designer, I run across it all the time in remodel projects. For those who are unaware or misinformed regarding asbestos and it's effects, here is a very informative webpage that simply states the different types and conditions where it is typically found:

National Safety Council Fact Sheet

Vinyl-asbestos tile is dependable and durable and it does not pose harm unless it is disturbed. It was the tile of choice for decades until it was discontinued for residential application in 1973. Manufacturers had until 1978 to deplete their stock and cease distribution. Asbestos had been used for almost 100 years as a binder in tiles. The asbestos in tile is not considered a health hazard because it is not friable or airborne. When removed however, it can become airborne and appropriate precautions should be taken or a professional abatement should be done.

The way you can tell if your tiles are asbestos is if they are 9"x9". When "they" quit putting aesbestos in vinyl floor tiles, the manufacturers changed the size to 12"x12". So if they are 12"x12" they don't have it & if they are 9"x9" they most likely do.