Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Community Forums > Our Community
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 12-14-2011, 07:49 AM   #1
2 Rivet Member

1972 23' Safari
San Antonio , Texas
Anyone in Houston inspected this?

Hi guys, I'm a newbie to the forum here, but I've found y'all to be so nice and helpful.
I'm headed to Del Rio for work for a year and instead of getting an apartment, I'd like to get an Airstream.
So far I've narrowed it down to a Argosy Minuet in Austin that I've gone and inspected. It could use some paint, but otherwise it's pretty structurally sound. The last owner put a bunch of money in it and now it's on a lot.
The other one I'm agonizing over is in Houston and I haven't been able to get out there to see it. I'm stuck working long days here and I have to be in Del Rio by Jan 2, so I don't want to just buy the first thing that's available, but I also don't want to buy the wrong one.
So, before I waste a trip to Houston, has anyone seen this particular AS listed on Craigslist? Airstream Trailer 1972 - 24ft
He sent me a long letter with all the work that's been done to it. It seems a good buy, and I'm sure I would really prefer the extra room since I'll be full-timing in it for a year.
Has anyone seen this? Should I go get it or should I save myself the gas money?
Also, does anyone have any opinion on whether I may be better off in the Argosy down on the Border since it seems like there's a lot of AS being stolen in Texas...

Thank you all for such a great community!
shrimptank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2011, 08:34 AM   #2
Rivet Master

1956 22' Flying Cloud
1953 32' Liner
1955 22' Safari
Valley View , Texas
Send a message via Skype™ to Melody Ranch