Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 09-20-2002, 05:28 PM   #1

Send a message via AIM to plentycrafty
1972 Tradewind

Hi Everyone! I'm totally new to this Airstream game and I'm hooked on them. I'm considering buying a restored 1972 Tradewind 25 ft. and I just can't seem to find how much the thing weighs!! I drive a 2001 Toyota Tundra SR5 V8, auto. trans. Thanks in advance for your help.
plentycrafty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2002, 07:27 PM   #2
2 Rivet Member

Tundra

Ok, Let's try this again (I started a new thread with this response a minute ago)...

You should be fine with that setup. I have 2001 Tundra 4X2 V-8 as well and am pulling a 72 Ambassador which is 29ft and weighs 4950 dry (7100GVWR). Of course the trailers running gear will need to be in good shape because you will need the braking help. Load equalizing hitch. Change the factory 4 pin wiring harness to a standard 7 pin (check the trailer to make sure). Add a brake controller to the truck, which is easier said than done as the Toyota's apparently don't come pre-wired for them. I use a Tekonsha brake controller. Oh, and make sure to add a transmission cooler if your truck doesn't have one.
That's all I can think of for now and I am obviously not the most experienced so I am sure others will chime in and fill in any gaps.
Dave-O is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2002, 08:50 PM   #3
uwe

2007 25' Safari FB SE
1958 22' Flying Cloud
1974 29' Ambassador
Yucca Valley , California
Send a message via Skype™ to uwe
Trailer weight

Hi plenty,

Check out this link
http://www.airstream.com/cgi-bin/faq...&id=1017111694

They have a complete table with trailer weights and tongue heights available.