Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Restoration, Repair & Parts Forums > Exterior Restoration Forum > Roof
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 09-04-2005, 11:13 AM   #1
2 Rivet Member

1986 34' Limited
Prospect , Tennessee
Roof Strength

This is probqbly covered already somewhere else in the Forum, but as I am new at this I couldn't find the info. I submitted this thread but it didn't look like it "took" so I am trying again. Pardon me if you saw it already.

I need to get on the roof to repair the vents/blower fans and when I put a little weight between the rivits on the roof sections (when I was repairing a bath fan) I felt a little flexing. I may also need to do a little air conditioning work. How strong is the roof and what is the best way to support a person's weight when getting up there to do repairs.

Thanks,

Lee
Lee Davis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2005, 11:31 AM   #2
4 Rivet Member

Reverse rolltop topper fixer

Lee,

I've just been dealing with this issue on my trailer. I sandwiched a piece of canvas between lots of 2"x40" strips of wood to a make a sort of tambour piece to lay across the top of the 'stream... Plywood would work, I just used some scrap. To describe this better I laid out half the wood with 1" spaces between the strips, put the canvas over this wood, then put another layer of wood strips over the canvas aligned with the ones below and screwed down through the canvas into the wood below. This was pretty quick to make and conforms to the top of the trailer to distribute my weight to the ribs. If you need a picture I can send it.