Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Restoration, Repair & Parts Forums > Exterior Restoration Forum > Bumpers & Bumper Storage
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 06-28-2017, 10:33 PM   #1
1 Rivet Member

1989 34' Excella
1969 27' Overlander
Montrose , Colorado
Rear bumper issues

Hello,

Newbie here! We just purchased an '89 34ft. Excella and are in the process of gutting it so we can custom build it to live in it full-time.

It's obvious the trailer was hit on the rear right which has caused that part of the frame to tilt. No clue as to what happened to the left part of the frame as it is gone completely. My question is this - how integral are these protruding parts of the frame to the overall integrity of the trailer?

The trailer will likely be parked as a permanent structure so if we aren't traveling with it is a bumper even necessary? If we do decide we want to travel with it eventually can we have the bumper and that part of the frame worked on then? Or should we just suck it up and do it now when we have easier access to the frame from the interior?

Thanks in advance!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_2316.jpg
Views:	160
Size:	462.1 KB
ID:	288375   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_2317.jpg
Views:	136
Size:	499.4 KB
ID:	288376  

Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_2318.jpg
Views:	133
Size:	405.5 KB
ID:	288377   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_2319.jpg
Views:	147
Size:	420.4 KB
ID:	288378  

britt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2017, 05:05 AM   #2
4 Rivet Member

2000 30' Excella
Toledo , Ohio