Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 04-24-2017, 08:41 AM   #1
2 Rivet Member

1976 31' Sovereign
Terre Haute , Indiana
Tire blow out took out rocker panel behind tire, need advice / suggestions

Hello everyone! I'm new to the Air Forums, but not new to internet forums or auto repair.

My wife and I picked up our new to us 1976 AS Sovereign yesterday. This was the end of a LONG journey to find exactly the right one for us. It was a real beauty! Practically unmolested, and the exterior was as perfect as we've been able to find....... until about 30 minutes left in our 4 hour trip.

We had a complete tread separation / blowout on the curb side rear tire. I had inspected the tires before the trip. Tread was beautiful and tire pressure was good, but only God knows how old the tires are. (I'll find that out later today).

Anyway, the aftermath includes a bent moulding around the wheel well, a crumpled steel piece directly behind the tire, the aluminum skin that wraps from the blue moulding under to the belly pan is bent up and ripped, and at least one outrigger will need repaired or replaced. Luckily it looks like the banana wrap at the corner was spared.

I've got lots of experience in auto repairs over the years, and have a pretty good handle on body work. I can weld in new outriggers and get everything back where it needs to be, and that doesn't scare me. Surely this isn't a new issue, so what I'm really interested in is a 'how to', a video, or something that will lay out what needs to be done to install the skin, and how it should be finished off.

I've also got a bit of reading to do on tires, because I think 4 new ones are in my future

Thanks everyone, and I'm very happy to be part of this big family now!

-Clay
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	20170423_175041.jpg
Views:	316
Size:	286.2 KB
ID:	284014   Click image for larger version