Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Restoration, Repair & Parts Forums > Exterior Restoration Forum > Belly Pans & Banana Wraps
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 11-13-2005, 05:11 PM   #1

1967 17' Caravel
Nathrop , Colorado
Removing the belly pan

Hi guys,

I'm a newbie here with a 67 Caravel. It's pretty much gutted now and I'm debating on how far to go with the floor repair. The original plywood has a bit of rot, but not enough that I couldn't live with it. The frame seems to be in good shape as well. The belly pan needs to be completely replaced however.

Working on it today made me think that it might be easier in the long run to remove the shell in order to replace the pan as I can't see how to remove the pan where it is overlapped by the shell.

The rear corners weren't too bad. I used my Dremel tool and cut the pan where it bent upward. I'll be able to easily slip the new piece up under the shell. The front corners are a different story however. The skin seems much too tight to be able to slide a new piece underneath it. Not to mention that I can't figure out how to get the pan detached at the front.

The deal is, I've convinced myself that if I take the shell off then I'll go ahead and replace the whole floor. But I'm trying to talk myself out of it!

Is there something I'm missing. Some magical easy way of taking the bottom off!
Flyboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2005, 12:19 PM   #2
Rivet Master

1974 27' Overlander
1954 26' Romany Cruiser
1960 26' Overlander
Rockingham County , New Hampshire
Send a message via AIM to balrgn Send a message via Yahoo to balrgn
I removed the rear section of the pan by simply drilling out the rivets that attach it to the frame, then replacing the rivets when I was done. However mine is a '72, not sure how yours is attached.