Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Restoration, Repair & Parts Forums > Exterior Restoration Forum > Belly Pans & Banana Wraps
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 08-03-2009, 02:42 PM   #1
Rivet Master

1967 24' Tradewind
Greenville , South Carolina
1967 Tradewind Bellypan removal-questions

I'm just getting started with the renovation on our Tradewind and am interested on what others did as far as the belly pan removal. I was kind of surprised that the pan is basically two sheets that runs the entire length of the trailer. Do I need to remove the axles? I need to replace them anyways so maybe now is the time. I need to replace some rear floor and am thinking I should remove the bellypan to make it a bit easier. Maybe I can just drop the rear portion do any frame paint and or repair that way? Maybe the trailer needs to be jacked up so high that the tires are off the ground, then the axles can be removed to replace bellypan? I did a search but did not have a lot of luck.

Thanks,

Michael
SilverHoot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2009, 03:37 PM   #2
Rivet Master

1958 26' Overlander
Mesa , Arizona
I've yet to drop my bellypan, too. I'm looking forward to your responses.

WBCCI #5661/AIR #5661/TAC # AZ-6
4CU 1st VP

My '58 Overlander Restoration and Travel Blog:
https://mellomikesairstreams.blogspot.com/
mello mike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2009, 04:11 PM   #3
Rivet Master

1971 21' Globetrotter
Currently Looking...
Currently Looking...
Currently Looking...
Arvada , Colorado