Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 06-06-2017, 11:05 AM   #1
1 Rivet Member

1973 Argosy 22
San Bruno , California
NorCal 1973 Argosy, paint recommendations?

Hello All,

I live in the SF Bay area, and looking for suggestions where to get my 1973, 22' Argosy painted? Minor body work, too.

Thank you!

bozo Dave
Bozo Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2018, 04:42 AM   #2
2 Rivet Member

1976 Argosy 24
Monroe , Michigan
Dave,

I also have an Argosy and was hoping you would get a reply from someone who has had an Argosy for a while. I am new to the Argosy as of March and we are looking at a paint job maybe next year. I will be doing the work myself. Is that an option for you?

We have a trillium (fiberglass) that we got professionally painted by a auto painter who said that they do it but are not a top-quality painter. We were extremely pleased as they did inside and out for our small trailer for around $700 3 years ago. I think it was one of those Maaco paint places that have a taller garage. Not of them in my area did campers, even small ones.

I'm wondering what kind of paint to use and what color? Just curious as to what you are thinking for paint colors?
~1975 Trillium 13'
...to grasp how wide and long and high and deep is the love of Christ
Katty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2018, 07:26 AM   #3
Rivet Master

1974 Argosy 26
Morrill , Nebraska
Look for an airport with maintenance facilities.
Some have facilities for painting aluminum airplanes.
Which means they have experience in dealing with a riveted shell.
A regional airport or aircraft training center would be better than SFO.
TG Twinkie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2018, 12:36 PM   #4
1 Rivet Member

1973 Argosy 22
San Bruno , California
reply to Katty, re: Argosy paint job