Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 09-05-2013, 10:04 AM   #1
Growing old but not up

1972 29' Ambassador
St. Louis , Missouri
Clearcoat removal

Starting the removal of the clearcoat on an 72' Ambassador and I was wondering how strong the PPG Aerospace Eldorado PR-5044 Peroxide-Activated Stripper is. I read that the Remove All that it replaced got into the plastic. Should I cover or remove the running lights and rear lighting to protect or can I just cover with the stripper and spray off later?
I am a newbie to Airstreams. This is my first restoration and I am looking forward to the challenge. I do know that this forum is THE best source of information related to an Airstream on the internet. So many people have shared their experiences and knowledge in such a friendly way that even though there is a mountain of work ahead of me I know that someone else has done this before. It makes it so much easier.
Thanks in advance,
Riskstl
riskstl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2013, 10:20 AM   #2
Rivet Master

1974 Argosy 20
2014 20' Flying Cloud
Kooskia , Idaho
Actually, removing all the plastic parts like lights and trim will make a much better job of your final results, as there will be no clear coat under them, no line around them, and probably a 1972 needs new plastic running lights, lens covers on the tail and stop lights etc. anyway. When you put them back on, just use new ones, they are really inexpensive and make an old trailer pop. You also can seal the holes used for the wires better that way too, again making one more sealing job. Of course, if you are using a water spray to remove the remover, you need to be careful about any holes you have left open. Plug them up with screws for a temporary patch.