Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 05-11-2017, 09:31 PM   #1
2 Rivet Member

2006 25' Safari FB SE
Boulder , Colorado
Rockguard: Fix or Replace

Hey everyone-

I'm new to trailer RVing and just purchased a new to me 2006 AS Safari 25ft. Its a beautiful trailer and was meticulously maintained. As I was trailering home on the highway tire debris hit my rock guard square on the left side and left a really big dent.

Not a huge deal but it kinda bummed me out.

So my question is can I have this repaired and banged out to almost look like new or does it make more sense to buy a new rock guard all together?

What have others done in this scenario?

Thanks
Abj1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2017, 11:01 PM   #2
cwf
Rivet Master

1999 34' Excella
Currently Looking...
Hillsboro , Texas
Howdy.. sorry for the hit... but, that is what they are for... to be sacrificial.

I would leave it.. use it until you can't stand it.. or maybe ready to sell one day...

Our AS is a 1999 and has over 80 'dings'/hits.. doesn't bother us...

We reduced the damage by using Rock Tamer rock deflectors..
cwf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2017, 05:04 AM   #3
Rivet Master
Commercial Member

1993 34' Excella
York , South Carolina
They are stainless steel and hinged so the can be swung open for cleaning behind them and dents pushed out. If it is not creased, it may very well be pushed out or even pulled out with a suction cup tool available from automotive stores.

If you travel much at all they will likely be hit again, the roads are full of junk. As Channing has pointed out, they are sacrificial...and expensive.
WBCCI #268 Palmetto State Airstream Club 22
Region 3 Past President....come with us, you will like it.

Go often to the house of a friend, for weeds choke the unused path........Emerson

Are you kind?..... Uncle John's Band
sandlapper is offline   Reply With Quote