Old 04-08-2016, 09:11 AM   #1
sck
1 Rivet Member

Currently Looking...
Austin , Texas
Question Rock Guard options -2016 Sport

I am new to this airstream world and just purchased a 22 ft Sport. It doesn't have front lower rock guards. The dealer I called said they come from Europe and are $600 each plus installation. Should I invest in them? Someone suggested mud/rock flaps from Airstream that go on the front of the hitch?
Would appreciate your input!

Old 04-10-2016, 08:46 PM   #2
Rivet Master

2016 27' Flying Cloud
Georgetown , Texas
Quote:
Originally Posted by sck View Post
I am new to this airstream world and just purchased a 22 ft Sport. It doesn't have front lower rock guards. The dealer I called said they come from Europe and are $600 each plus installation. Should I invest in them? Someone suggested mud/rock flaps from Airstream that go on the front of the hitch?
We purchased our 22 ft. Sport new in 2015 ... probably from the same dealership that you're purchasing from ... the rock guards have already served their intended purpose well on several occassions. I would highly recommend purchasing them ... if you're purchasing your Airstream from the same dealership that we did ... watch them very closely ... not the best service around ... just saying ........

Old 04-10-2016, 10:32 PM   #3
4 Rivet Member

2016 25' Flying Cloud
Holly Springs , Mississippi
Look at the Towtector. Best price I've found is from realtruck.com. A friend used the Towtector on his F-150 towing an FC25 and said he had zero rock dings on his front shields. They come highly rated by other users who have written evaluations. I'm ordering a set tomorrow.

2016 FC 25' FB twin
2013 F-150 Lariat CrewCab 3.5 EB 4X4 3.55 axle
Bob662 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2016, 06:18 AM   #4
sck
1 Rivet Member

Currently Looking...
Austin , Texas
Quote:
Originally Posted by Frank&Mike View Post