Old 03-31-2007, 06:24 PM   #1
4 Rivet Member

1981 25' Excella II
Dillon , Colorado
'81 Excella II info

I noticed the excella 2 forum, and thought I would request an 81 sub forum. I'm new to owning an airstream, having been an over for about 1 year now. When I purchased my airstream I did enough homework to know that first I wanted an airstream, then what size, condition, and price range I was looking for. We looked for almost a year but still didn't know everything we could have before buying. Some of the things I'm trying to find out now are the differences in model years, design, and skin finish. We ended up buying a 1981 excella2 which was sold to us as a 25' model. I'm still not 100% sure of the model, but it measures 24'8" from bumper to hitch ball. I'm taking her down to Windish RV in denver on April 12th. to have a rock guard installed, and plan to get more details there. So far we've done some interior work on the cabinets, and curtains as well as replaced the carpet. We're to the point were the interior is about what we want. I spent a lot more time then I'd want to admit on the exterior last year, and said that I just wanted to clean it up, but I ended up removing the blue stripe, and giving her a high speed, and orbital buff followed by liquid gold, and wax. It still has a way to go, so I've ordered a cyclo polisher to finish the job this spring. I'm hoping I can get it to the point where I only have to wax it once each year.