Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 08-09-2017, 07:20 PM   #1
2 Rivet Member

2017 27' International
Lewes , Delaware
To Torque or Not to Torque

Folks, I'm new to Airstream but have over 10 years in Winnebago a couple different Sprinter Chassis's, View and Via.

I want to get off on the right foot with "Bella" my new 27FB International Serenity. In reading safety warnings etc. I see the recommendations to check the torque on the trailer lug nuts. Do folks really do this?
bella_intl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2017, 07:44 PM   #2
Rivet Master

2005 25' International CCD
Westlake Village , California
Lug nuts

Welcome.
After hearing of actual stories of wheel loss
(Any trailer) one may think to have done beforehand.

Personally, if it's checked and right tight....less wondering. We're new at this But done it and happy not to worry afterwards. Noticed some lugs became looser than others. If not watching, who knows?

After all, Its your personal experience to follow up on items that can mess with your trip.
Safe travels.
Vantair is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2017, 07:48 PM   #3
Rivet Master

2014 20' Flying Cloud
Sag Harbor , New York
Quote:
Originally Posted by DC@ViennaVa View Post
. . .
Do folks really do this?
Only the folks who want the wheels to stay attached to the drums and axles . . .

OTRA15 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2017, 09:06 PM   #4
Rivet Master

2007 28' International CCD
Springfield , Missouri
I carry a torque wrench at all times.I check torque every other fill up of my tow vehicle.I have had them loosen up.
Moflash is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2017, 09:31 PM   #5
Site Team

2017 30' International
Broomfield , Colorado
I check the lug nuts a couple times a summer and also carry a big breaker bar with sockets in the event I need to tighten a wheel, hitch bolt or what have you....