Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Restoration, Repair & Parts Forums > Running Gear - Axles, Brakes, Wheels & Tires > Wheels, Hubs & Bearings
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 11-15-2013, 07:44 PM   #1
1 Rivet Member

Currently Looking...
Columbus , Ohio
split rim replacements '53 flying cloud

Hi guys. Hope you can help a newbie here on some wheels and info. Headed over to pick up my 53 21ft flying cloud and it has the original split rims on it with tired tires. I need to remove these before I tow it home. Can you tell me the correct steel wheel and tire combo to purchase so i can safely get it home several hundred miles.

Also, Im reasonably sure the lug nuts will be really hard to remove due to age, etc. Should I take a propane torch to heat the lugs and or nuts, etc. I dont want to get them real hot because of the bearings, grease, etc. Is that even advisable ? Lubricants may not be of much use over the top of the lugs, etc. I plan to take a lug wrench and a long hollow bar for added leverage. Any suggestions. Any and all help is GREATLY APPRECIATED, as always.

Thanks,

Rlmm
rlmm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2013, 10:58 AM   #2
Moderator dude

1966 26' Overlander
Phoenix , Arizona
I am not familar enough with pre-1961 trailers to know the exact rim size. I would assume a 5 hole 15" rim with zero offset.

It is quite possible the trailer does not have lug nuts rather lug bolts. I would NOT suggest using heat at all no matter the set up. Especially if the trailer has lug bolts as the heat will not penetrate the threaded area with out penetrating other components first and causing damage. A six sided socket with a breaker bar and an extension to that if needed should do the trick.

>>>>>>>>>>>Action
Old 11-20-2013, 10:20 AM   #3
1 Rivet Member