Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Restoration, Repair & Parts Forums > Running Gear - Axles, Brakes, Wheels & Tires > Wheels, Hubs & Bearings
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 01-15-2012, 07:13 PM   #1
4 Rivet Member

2001 16' Bambi
2013 23' International
Piedmont Region , North Carolina
14" to 15" on single axle????

After much searching I can't find an instance about going from 14" to 15" wheels and tires on a single axle. I want to make this change on my Bambi if it's feasible. When it comes to buying tires it is quite a chore to find something that I feel good about in a 14".

Thought it would be good to get some ideas from those who may have done this if anyone has. As I said, couldn't find anything in my searches, all about dual axles and I'm no expert but figured maybe wheel load ratings and all that may be different for a dual set up. You tire/wheel gurus are welcome to comment here.

Found some troublesome corrosion on one of my wheels recently and I am going to replace them even if I can't go to a 15" so this is the time to figure out what can be done. As for why I'm looking at 15's instead of going to the more popular 16's, I have read that 16's wouldn't fit in the wheel well without deflating them if you had to change a tire and may cause problems fitting in the spare carrier.
The trailer came with 14" from factory, 3500lb axle 10" brakes. 5 -- 4.5 lug pattern. 2001 16' Bambi.

Thanks for input.
TB
tinbender is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2012, 08:03 PM   #2
Rivet Master

1965 17' Caravel
1983 27' Excella
Walnut Grove/Laguna Woods , California
Send a message via Yahoo to Jim Foster
I changed our Caravel from 14 to 15. No problem at all. Just be sure you get good wheels, rated for the load, and inflation pressure of what ever tires you choose.