Old 11-03-2010, 09:53 PM   #1
1936 20' Clipper
, Pennsylvania
What now??

OK, so I'm new to Airstreams but not entirely new to towing. I have towed a 22 foot wakeboard boat and have plenty of RV experience with my 2009 Fleetwood Icon with Saturn Vue Toad...

BUT...I need help because I'm changing it up!

I just sold the class C and bought a 2010 Airstream International 28ft. My tow vehicle is a 2007 Chevy Suburban 5.3 V8 Flex Fuel.

The Airstream is just north of 7500lbs, unloaded, which fits within the Chevy's stated tow rating, but obviously we would be adding some weight with clothes and food, etc when we travel. I am fully aware that this is no F-350 Diesel...I know that towing would be sluggish, especially uphill, however, I have some questions:

1. Can this truck be used if I'm willing to put up with sluggish performance?
2. What sort of hitch apparatus do you guys recommend?
3. Are there any performance upgrades for Chevy 5.3 V8s that could increase towing performance?

Thanks in advance!

Oregonian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2010, 12:03 AM   #2
Rivet Master
1978 28' Ambassador
Morada , California
Congrats on you new AS' that model's a beauty!

According to the specs I saw listed on AS's site, the 28 Int'l is listed with a Unit Base Wt of 5583 lbs - that's 'unloaded', without water and your gear...

The GVWR is listed as 7300 lbs, which is indicative of the axle capacity (and proper weight rated tires) - that leaves you with about 1700 lbs for your 'stuff'...

The 28 is listed with a 950 lbs hitch weight, with the bare trailer - adding your stuff will add to that figure to some degree, depending on how you distribute your stuff, for & aft inside the AS...

With that 950 # tongue wt, you'll be needing a WD hitch that has bars with a capacity of at least 1000 lbs...we use an Equal-i-zer brand hitch with 1000# bars to pull our older 28ft AS, and it handles like a dream - of course we do have a long wheelbase Excursion, which helps...