Old 02-26-2012, 11:44 PM   #1
2 Rivet Member

Aptos , California
What is the point of the fancy hitches?

I'm new to the forum. My wife and I are thinking of buying an airstream. I am a farmer and tow heavy loads regularly. Farm equipment, trailers, car haulers, boats, etc. I've never even heard of the Hensley hitches, etc. until reading this forum. What do they do that is so special? I'm an airstream virgin, so maybe there is something to do with the trailers that makes the fancy hitches necessary?
Dave

Old 02-27-2012, 12:05 AM   #2
Rivet Master

1974 Argosy 20
2014 20' Flying Cloud
Kooskia , Idaho
Since I still have the first Reese equalizing hitch I bought when I got my first AS in 1979, and it has worked for me for all these years, I will be interested to see the replies.

I have my popcorn ready.

Old 02-27-2012, 12:17 AM   #3
Rivet Master

1974 Argosy 26
Morrill , Nebraska
You've opened a can of worms now.
I'm also a farmer and have been towing trailers with weights far in excess of what my Argosy weighs for years. I've towed tandem trailers meaning one behind the other in just about every combination of length and weight one could imagine.
Never owned a weight distribution hitch, let alone something as fancy as a Hensley.
Never heard of a Hensley Hitch until I joined this forum.
Have always understood the principles of trailer weight distribution and proper hitch heights etc. Good brakes good tires and safe speeds have gotten me thru 40 years without incident.
Hope to get thru the next 40 as well.
I'm sure you will get every opinion known to man about every type of specialty hitch out there.
I just love reading threads on this subject and those on tires and their types and the amount of air etc.
Don't really know how one makes a decision after reading all opinions.
Have fun here!
Old 02-27-2012, 12:32 AM   #4
3 Rivet Member

1973 31' Excella 500
Marysville , Washington