Old 01-06-2016, 02:25 PM   #1

folsom , California
toyota tundra 2008 hitch advice

Hello forum members
i am new to travel trailers
did tow a horse trailer from Sacramento to Philadelphia and back in 1993 behind a El Camino in January.
i have a 2008
toyota tundra 380 HP crewmax with 55K miles on it.
will be purchasing 22 - 25 foot Airstream (2015 or 2016) (probably 23 foot) within next 3 months.
would like to get a hitch installed soon.
i need advice. i have enough funds for any sort of installation.
1. what hitch?
2. where get it installed?
i live in Folsom, California.
i was thinking of going to the Toyota dealer in Folsom but i have no idea what they would give me...
Thank you.

Old 01-06-2016, 02:50 PM   #2
Rivet Master

2008 25' Classic
Wichita Falls , Texas
Before I got my Ram 2500 I towed my 25fb with a 2010 Tundra 2x4 Double Cab SR5. Used an Equalizer 1000lb hitch. My Classic 25fb tongue weight is heavy, 1100lbs. I found I had to use about 5 washers to get the front vendor height close to unloaded height. I don't think I every got it dialed in because on my trip out West this past summer I felt uncomfortable going around some down hill curves in Colorado on I70 heading east into Denver.

Wherever you end up buying your trailer they should be able to install and adjust the hitch. The Toyota dealership is not equipped. I'm assuming your Tundra has the receiver installed from the factory.

You'll have to get a brake controller installed in the Tundra. The Prodigy P3 is popular and with the correct cable plugs into a harness under the dash by the drivers door.

If you go with the larger trailer then many will recommend the Propride hitch. However, the majority of these are installed by the owners and not by an RV dealership. Typical RV dealerships will install the Equalizer, Blue OX, Eaz Lift brands.

Best you read the Hitch forum on this site to learn what others experience and recommend before venturing out.

Kelvin

Old 01-07-2016, 06:54 AM   #3