Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 07-22-2005, 04:20 PM   #1

Tow Vehicle/Hitch Help

Hello to all:
I'm a newbie looking for some guidance. Unless something unforeseen happens, in the near future I will be ordering our first RV -- a 28' Safari LS. My current choices for a tow vehicle are the following 2005/2006 SUV's:
3/4 Ton GMC Yukon 4X4 with Vortec 8100 V8 and Auto Trans.
3/4 Ton Chevy Suburban 4X4 with Vortec 8100 V8 and Auto Trans
3/4 Ton Ford Excursion 4X4 with 6.0 Power Stroke Diesel and Auto Trans
The 28' Safari is listed at 7300 lbs. GVW and a dry hitch weight of 890 lbs.
I believe that all of the above vehicles will be able to safely and efficiently pull our new Safari, but I want to be sure. I would rather have too much vehicle than barely enough. (The Ford Excursion may be out of the running because its specs show that it is about 2'' too high to fit through our garage door.)
I'm also looking for guidance as to what hitch might also be the best for this set-up.

Any info, suggestions, opinions, etc. will be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,
Trav
Trav is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2005, 04:38 PM   #2
Rivet Master

1967 26' Overlander
Huntsville , Alabama
Welcome Trav!

You're right - All of your listed vehicles will perform admirably.

Funny you mention auto trans. Were you considering a manual? FWIW, nowadays the autos have higher ratings in general since there is small demand for manuals.

I have Reese's dual cam, and feel it can't be beat. To me, adjustable friction bars are to be avoided.

Tom
p.s. GM rules my driveway
TomW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2005, 05:26 PM   #3
Rivet Master

Lisle , Illinois
My "old" Chevy 5.0 luged a 1967 26 footer out of Atlanta. I'm sure any one you listed will do the job.

GM's rule here too.
AIR#3788 TAC IL-10
No trailers...
till is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2005, 05:32 PM   #4
Retired.