Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Restoration, Repair & Parts Forums > Towing, Tow Vehicles & Hitches > Hitches, Couplers & Balls
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Closed Thread

Old 12-31-2012, 10:00 AM   #1141
1972 Travelux Princess 25

Cobourg , Ontario
Early in the thread there were reports from users under severe weather and traffic conditions who found the Andersen equal to the Haha and PP and better than the spring bar hitches. There were one or two reports of the tow vehicle's sway control kicking in, under extreme conditions, for a spit second.
Old 12-31-2012, 10:45 AM   #1142
Rivet Master

2012 25' Flying Cloud
Battle Lake , Minnesota
I'm going launch the idea that the Andersen does not apply weight distribution in the same way as spring bars. But I'm an artist not a scientist.

The Andersen transfers weight by shortening the distance from the bottom of the hitch to the frame brackets, lifting the tongue of the trailer. The pivot point is primarily the hitch ball.

The spring bars transfer weight by lifting the bottom of the hitch ball, then fastening the bars in that position, thereby lifting the tongue of the trailer. The primary pivot point is not the hitch ball, but a point somewhere between the tow vehicle axles.

If this is true, we would have to compute weight transfer differently for each. What do you scientists think?

doug k
Old 12-31-2012, 10:55 AM   #1143
Rivet Master

2005 39' Land Yacht 390 XL 396
Common Sense , Texas
Doug, a specific question for you...when you set up your Andersen hitch, did you measure the front fender height before, and after the hookup? Or, did you go to the scales to weigh the front axle of the TV before and after?
Old 12-31-2012, 11:26 AM   #1144
Rivet Master

2012 25' Flying Cloud
Battle Lake , Minnesota