Old 01-03-2010, 06:07 PM   #1
2 Rivet Member

1980 31' International
there , Wisconsin
sway/equalizer hitch and clearance

I bought a sway/equalizer hitch a year ago, Took it home. Looked at my truck ,a 2001 F250 crew cab diesel short box, optioned out like a F350 w/SRW, and my trailer, 1980 international 31ft. and said...

Boy, if i put that on, there will be very little clearance between the ground and the bottom of the equalizer. The truck rides fairly level with the trailer on, maybe drops an inch (heavy springs). Most other travel trailers seem to much higher hitches than my airstream.

So i took it back and pulled the trailer like ive been doing for 10 years..

Commando!

Am i missing something?

Its one of the two eq/swy hitches that members fill pages on as to which one is better. Both look to have about the same clearance underneath
I do think my '90 F350 diesel crewcab long box was much better, i.e. great, at keeping the trailer straight behind me. (longer wheel base?)

I do want to get my wife behind the wheel. So i really want to get one of these put on... and i really should have it anyway...

Old 01-03-2010, 06:27 PM   #2
Just an old timer...

Tipton , Iowa
What is "very little clearance"? I don't remember having more than about 8" or so between the ground and the bottom of my Reese Dual Cam when I towed my '94 tri-axle 34' behind my Y2K Excursion. It never dragged anywhere.

Roger

Old 01-03-2010, 08:22 PM   #3
2 Rivet Member

1980 31' International
there , Wisconsin
OK. in responce next spring when the 2 ft of snow melts and its at least 5 degrees F above zero, i will re-check the clearance
Old 01-03-2010, 09:56 PM   #4
Moderator dude

1966 26' Overlander
Phoenix , Arizona
The short wheel based may contribute to sway more than anything else. That is why the crewcab tows better.