Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 01-13-2010, 02:01 PM   #21
Rivet Master

1967 24' Tradewind
Wickenburg , Arizona
Quote:
Originally Posted by Minnie's Mate View Post
You may not need weight distribution on your truck. The stiff suspension will make it difficult to affectively transfer weight to the front. However, you can get sway hitches that do not distribute weight. Not being an expert, I can't tell you that you do or do not need sway control, but if it were me, I'd feel a lot safer with the insurance of having it than not. Like I said earlier (my personal opinion), when a law suit is filed is too late to install it.

Just my $.02.
At the Arizona Proving Ground we tested pickup trucks, and SUVs. Duribility testing it was called. We ran tens of thousands of miles of trailer tow annually on public highways with trailers loaded to GVW for that particular rig.To my knowledge we never used sway control. I'm thinking if lawsuits were an issue we would have used such equipment.
Adios, John
Diesel1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2010, 03:22 PM   #22
Rivet Master
Airstream Dealer

Corona , California
Quote:
Originally Posted by Diesel1 View Post
At the Arizona Proving Ground we tested pickup trucks, and SUVs. Duribility testing it was called. We ran tens of thousands of miles of trailer tow annually on public highways with trailers loaded to GVW for that particular rig.To my knowledge we never used sway control. I'm thinking if lawsuits were an issue we would have used such equipment.
Adios, John
A sway control, is like insurance. None of us needs it, until something happens.

When you don't need it, it's a waste of money.

BUT when you do need it, it's way too late. All to many times, owners like that say "I should have listened".

The vast majority of people that tow travel trailers, have a sway control.

The vast minority, that don't believe in them, don't.