Old 05-20-2004, 03:20 PM   #1
Retired Old Bill

1973 31' Excella 500
Clermont , Florida
Send a message via Yahoo to tincanholiday
Sway Bars

I bought my Excella 500 last December, the seller kindly lent me a tow ballhitch and some sway bars. I used it a few times and it seemed to waggle a little. I am towing with a Ford Expedition. I have had to give the hitch and the bars back and am in the market to get some new ones. I want to get something that will be safe and prevent as much waggle and weave as possible. I called an RV dealer and he quoted me over a $1000 installed. I then called a trailer company and they quoted $400 for the parts. I am not an expert at the jargon so I may not be explaining myself to them on the phone. I live in Clermont (in between Orlando and Tampa), My vehicle already has the hitch and electrioc brake hookups installed so i am looking for a ball and 2 metal bars and something that fixes on the trailer to hook them too. Or am I dreaming. Help please.

Old 05-20-2004, 03:36 PM   #2
Obsessed with Moonunit

1978 Argosy Minuet 6.7 Metre
Love It Here , Colorado
To Sway or not to Sway

Hello - have you checked some of the past posts for information and links to the following:

Reese Dual Cam
Hensley Hitch
Equilizer Hitch

There is one post that was doing a survey of which was best. Try putting those names into the search box and it might give you some help..

"When a great ship is in harbour and moored, it is safe, there can be no doubt. But that is not what great ships are built for." by Clarissa Pinkola-Estes, author of ‘Women Who Run With the Wolves’
COArgosy78 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2004, 04:42 PM   #3

2004 30' Classic Slideout
Fenton , Missouri
Send a message via AIM to jcanavera Send a message via Skype™ to jcanavera
Quote:
Originally Posted by tincanholiday