Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Restoration, Repair & Parts Forums > Towing, Tow Vehicles & Hitches > Hitches, Couplers & Balls
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 05-10-2018, 10:50 AM   #1
2 Rivet Member

2018 16' Sport
- , Massachusetts
Please help! SOS! cannot unhitch ball from coupler

hello all,
after years of planning, I picked up my Sport 16 yesterday. This is my first time with a TT and my first time trailering... Took me a lot to get over my fear of doing this on my own. There's just so much to get from dreaming about this to making it a successful reality.

I purchased an Andersen Anti-Sway Hitch used from someone on here. They said the 2" ball was not right and wouldn't put it on. They gave me 2" drop ball hitch and hooked it up for me. I drove home the 200 plus miles without an anti-sway hitch and fortunately it was easy going. Never really even felt like I had the trailer behind me (TV is a V8 hemi Ram 1500 so maybe that is why?).

I struggled SOOOOO much backing the trailer into my driver. Was an exercise in frustration that nearly brought me to tears, but after a million attempts, I got it in. I then went to unhitch the trailer from the truck because my driveway is not long enough to keep them connecting - my truck is hanging out into the street.

This T shaped thing that I am supposed to pull back on will not budge. I took the pressure off by engaging the jack, still nothing. I put some vaseline on it thinking perhaps some lubricant would help, nothing.

Please, what am I missing? Picture included.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	trailer hitch.jpg
Views:	191
Size:	127.8 KB
ID:	310612  
reverie room is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2018, 10:55 AM   #2
4 Rivet Member

Byron Center , Michigan