Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Restoration, Repair & Parts Forums > Towing, Tow Vehicles & Hitches > Hitches, Couplers & Balls
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 11-03-2006, 08:07 PM   #1
2 Rivet Member

2006 25' Safari FB SE
Valencia , California
Need some help w/clunking issue

Hi all, I've been browsing the forum for quit some time now and this my first post.
I'm pretty new to the TT world. I recently bought my first TT a 2006 25" FB SE LS (May '06) and we're lovin it.
I have a question and need some help. I'm having an issue lately that has never occurred since purchasing my AS. We've taken it out now on six trips. I'm not sure if it's the trailer, the hitch or my truck (2005 Toyota Tundra DC). When I accelerate from a stop there seems to be some play or slack that is taken up causing a clunking feel. When I slow to a stop, the same thing happens clunking forward. I can't see where anything can be loose. I've checked all of the bolts and fittings on the Equalizer hitch and everything is tight. I tried to adjust the brake controller (Tekonsha Voyager)but that definitely caused more pull and grabbing on my truck when I brake so I eased it off to where it was. I took my truck over to the Toyota dealer for service and explained the issue and had them check the drive shaft, rear axle and hitch assembly for any loose bolts or noticable issues and none were found, granted they weren't able to test it pulling a load since I didn't have the AS with me.
Any ideas what it could be or where else to look.

Thanks in advance,

Greg
millertime is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2006, 08:33 PM   #2
Rivet Master

2006 30' Classic
Farmington , New Mexico