Old 08-09-2015, 08:21 PM   #1
1 Rivet Member

2009 19' Flying Cloud
Fairfield , Connecticut
Loud "Thunk" - 4Runner and Hensley Cub

Hi all,

Have searched the forums for similar issue, but did not find anything. I have a 2009 19' Bambi with a Hensley Cub installed by the AS dealer (Colonial). As a TV I am using a 2011 4Runner with Tow Package, which I bought new specifically as a TV. I know the Cub was probably overkill, but I had never towed before, and was concerned about sway and control. I LOVE the hitch, though to be fair, I have no experience with anything else.

But here's my worry. When I first start towing, generally the first corner I take, and then when accelerating onto the interstate, the underframe of the 4Runner seem to make a loud "thunk" noise. It might happen once or twice, and then not again unless I brake fairly hard, and then it sometimes happens. I cannot tell for sure whether it's coming from the hitch assembly or the underframe, but it feels like the frame.

I called Hensley and they said the Cub would not do that, and I had the hitch reinspected by Colonial when I took the AS in for some maintenance, and all seems fine with the hitch installation.

I'm stumped and a bit concerned about that 'thunk', and wondering if any of you had any ideas? It's very hard to pinpoint since it only happens when towing, and when moving. I did notice that if I did not tighten the spring bars as much as I usually do for a comfortable ride (and thus did not shift as much weight to the TV) the 'thunk' was more frequent, almost constant with turning, accelerating etc. But when I tighten the bars, to 'normal', I still get it occasionally.

But otherwise, everything seems to be working fine, and the trailer tows beautifully and the 4Runner seems to have no issue with the Bambi.

Any ideas as to what might be going on?

Old 08-09-2015, 08:30 PM   #2
3 Rivet Member

2003 30' Classic
Centerville , Ohio
It is probably the bar shifting in the receiver box. No big deal.