Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 07-17-2006, 01:24 PM   #41
Rivet Master

1978 24' Argosy 24
Woodinville , Washington
OK, having watch The Long Long Trailer this weekend I'm now an expert on this subject

First off it is a weight distributing device. It adds a weight bearing point and therefore reduces the load on the rear of the TV. It's really hard to say what effect it has other than decreasing tongue weight on the TV or what the load distribution would look like. I'm going to guess that the load on the HH is about that of the rated tongue wait for the trailer.

As for sway control it adds another contact point with the road between the TV and trailer. This is going to resist the side to side movement of the trailer. That's basicly what the friction sway controllers do is it not?

I'm certainly not going to sell my Reese and buy one. Totally impractical for the "offroad" conditions that I tow in. As to why the technology was abandon I think it's because adaquate tow vehicles became widely available. I the 50's only farmers and cowboys drove pickup trucks (OK, a few fringe hot rodders ). They were crude work vehicles. I think the hassles with the HH concept that have been mentioned combined with the better options for tow vehicles and the advent of the WD hitch systems just made it obsolete.

I see the product serving only a niche market. Temporary use until an adaquate TV can be aquired might be one but I think the big interest might be from people that want to use a vintage TV for show & shine runs.

-Bernie
bhayden is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2006, 08:15 PM   #42
Rivet Master

1960 24' Tradewind
santa barbara , California
hello bhayden , you also noticed in the movie how incredibly long that
trailer was ,I don't know a Wd setup that could handle that tongue
weight ,would be extremely heavy ,that dolly would be a necessity .