Old 12-20-2005, 11:09 AM   #1
3 Rivet Member

2007 27' Safari FB SE
Scurry , Texas
Question Hensley Hitch?

I looked at a Hensley Hitch last week. seems like a military grade towing monster. But at $3000 is it worth it? ANyone have experience with this unit and comparisons to a standard Reese type hitch. I've been towing for 10 years with a standard weight distribution hitch with no problems. But we're looking at a new 28 footer and the dealer is really pushing these $3000 hitches. So...is it really necessary - considering the safety claimes of the company...or is it all smoke and mirror hype?

thanks

Old 12-20-2005, 11:29 AM   #2
VAC President

1977 27' Overlander
1954 25' Cruiser
1990 34.5' Airstream 345
VC Highlands , Nevada
Send a message via Skype™ to Buttercup
We have one and love it. Yes it is expensive and to us worth it. But I believe that in 99 % of the cases a standard WD hitch with a good sway bar will suffice.

I bought it for the security that I feel when we tow. And I would not ever think of getting rid of it.

Buttercup's Web Site. WBCCI #17330, 11281 & 7830. VAC Past President, TAC NV-2 & NV-3
Buttercup is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2005, 11:43 AM   #3
Rivet Master

1999 34' Excella
Joshua , Texas
We are on our second 34' and our second Hensley Arrow. We tried the Reese Dual Cam and it was OK, but doesn't come lose to comparing to the Hensley. If you can get past the price and look at the long term life of the product, then you won't regret your purchase.
Old 12-20-2005, 12:50 PM   #4
Rivet Master

1976 27' Overlander
Richmond , Virginia
Thumbs up

Brow,