Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Restoration, Repair & Parts Forums > Towing, Tow Vehicles & Hitches > Hitches, Couplers & Balls
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 04-20-2014, 09:26 AM   #1
Trying to run away.....

Currently Looking...
Hampton , Virginia
Full sized P'up TV hitch setups

I'm a newbie yet to squeeze off on a AS. My choice unit will be 30'+ Signature or Classic using my F350 PSD to do the tow work. I was smart enough to order the truck with the factory trailer brake controller so that side is covered. I realize there are TONS of hitch setup and options out there.

Considering I have a 1 ton truck is there really a need for the whole weight distributing hitch setups? I've towed several different ball hitch trailers with no real issues. This would be my first RV of any size so I just want to be ready.

Additionally I know I could try to swing a deal on buying the AS that they add in a hitch setup. Considering that possibility what's a reasonable hitch setup to have the "total package price" include for my deal??

Thanks to all!
HeavyAssault is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2014, 10:33 AM   #2
Rivet Master

2005 39' Land Yacht 390 XL 396
Common Sense , Texas
A weight distribution hitch would benefit you in ride quality, and handling stability. Almost any of the name brand hitches will work fine, but I'd look for one with built in sway control. There are many discussions on this subject here, so it would save a lot of time for everyone else if you would do a search on the subject, and a lot of reading.
Old 04-20-2014, 11:57 AM   #3
Trying to run away.....

Currently Looking...
Hampton , Virginia
I didn't realize I was wasting your time. I shall seek an answer thru other means.
Old 04-20-2014, 12:26 PM   #4
Rivet Master

1999 34' Excella
Joshua , Texas