Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 03-31-2019, 09:53 AM   #1
1 Rivet Member

2018 25' Flying Cloud
Springfield , Illinois
Equal-i-zer removal problem

Complete Newbie here. Just took delivery on 25' FC, towing with F-150 w/ tow package. Dealer installed the Equal-i-zer which is extremely noisy; I realize this is a common "problem." I assume this will moderate with break-in and lubrication.
Upon un-hitching after 120 miles, one sway bar came off with significant effort, the other would hardly budge. I am not a weakling but not a body-builder either. After removing the L-pin I slowly moved up the rig on a gravel lot, thinking that I might find a different level taking the pressure off the stubborn bar, but it popped off before I went 3-4 feet.
My initial question is, am I doing damage to the bar/hitch system in this process? There was no visible damage.
Thanks for any advice, grateful to be a member of this community.
Silverfox58 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2019, 10:02 AM   #2
Rivet Master

1977 31' Sovereign
Tampa Bay , ^
A little bearing grease on the moving parts quiets it down significantly, but be careful... you will get it on everything... especially your clothes.

Leave your trailer lock attached to the ball, crank the jack up lifting the trailer up slightly and the back of your vehicle, and the bars will slip right off the brackets. Same when putting them on.

Sneakinup is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2019, 10:18 AM   #3
.-. -...

2017 25' International
Niagara-on-the-Lake , ON Canada
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sneakinup View Post
A little bearing grease on the moving parts quiets it down significantly, but be careful... you will get it on everything...
Wouldn't putting grease where the WD bars go onto the A-frame tongue brackets reduce the friction anti-sway component of the Equal-i-zer hitch?
Old 03-31-2019, 10:23 AM   #4
Rivet Master