Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Restoration, Repair & Parts Forums > Towing, Tow Vehicles & Hitches > Hitches, Couplers & Balls
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 10-12-2011, 07:55 AM   #201
"Cloudsplitter"

2003 25' Classic
Houstatlantavegas , Malebolgia
"I am a test engineer I have to have more than BS to buy something."

Perry,

Please keep us posted on where your BS/data thesis takes you.

Bob
Old 10-12-2011, 08:08 AM   #202
Rivet Master

1981 31' Excella II
New Market , Alabama
Andy do you have some links so I can read up on the torsion type sway control hitches? What brands use this technology?

I think the main stability issues with the SOB trailers is they are top heavy which makes them unstable in roll. They are also more suspectable to cross winds because of the higher drag.

My mind is not made up Andy but I would rather fill it with facts and not the smelly stuff.

Perry

Quote:
Originally Posted by Inland RV Center, In View Post
Perry.

The very best sway control, is not friction, but torsion.

I don't wish to change your mind, but an Airstream, is a "very unstable" trailer to tow.

Why??

SOB's typically have a flat front. That creates tons of wind resistance, which also acts, to some degree, like a sway control.

Airstream, on the other hand, is very aerodynamically clean, which offers very little wind resistance. Therefore one must use better equipment to tow an Airstream than an SOB.

Try pulling a flat fronted trailer at high speed, like 90 to 100 mph. It won't happen.

But with an Airstream, even a loaded 31 footer, you can easily tow over 100 mph with a car.

Years ago, as a test, an empty 5 X 8 boxed U-haul was towed with a 1973 Buick at a maxed out speed of 85 mph.