Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 01-09-2014, 10:57 AM   #1
1 Rivet Member

Currently Looking...
Laguna Hills , California
Air Safe Air Hitch and WD hitch combo

Our plans are to buy a 3/4 ton pickup and new 30' Airstream International this summer. Considering the harsh ride a 3/4 ton pickup transfers to the trailer I'm impressed the Air Safe Air Hitch will allow the trailer to be far less thrashed about going down the road. My question is....Seems to me I'll also need a WD hitch? If so will the Anderson WD hitch work? If not what WD hitch would work best?
JBCrete2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2014, 11:38 AM   #2
2 Rivet Member

2007 27' Safari FB SE
Springfield , Virginia
The Reese dual cam works for me and my AirSafe hitch
lylesgl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2014, 09:02 AM   #3
4 Rivet Member

I've been using an AirSafe since 2006 and can testify it does everything the maker claims it does.

It doesn't take a fancy hitch receiver to make it work right. I've been using an ole Eaz Lift (I think that's what it's called) with excellent results.
Airstreamer67 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2014, 09:31 AM   #4
Rivet Master

2005 39' Land Yacht 390 XL 396
Common Sense , Texas
Quote:
Originally Posted by Uptightto View Post
Our plans are to buy a 3/4 ton pickup and new 30' Airstream International this summer. Considering the harsh ride a 3/4 ton pickup transfers to the trailer I'm impressed the Air Safe Air Hitch will allow the trailer to be far less thrashed about going down the road. My question is....Seems to me I'll also need a WD hitch? If so will the Anderson WD hitch work? If not what WD hitch would work best?
I seriously doubt the Anderson is capable of actually transferring the tongue weight of the 30' Airstream, and then there's the issue with it not being compatable with the coupler that Airstream uses.