Old 08-31-2009, 07:56 PM   #1
2 Rivet Member

1968 26' Overlander
Del Rio , Texas
A frame balls

First let me mention I am a newbie to this site and to Airstreams. I have admired them for along time, but have never gotten involved into the details of them. I figured the best way to learn is to purchase one. So this past weekend I purchased a 26' 1964 Overlander. It seems to be in fairly good condition, but as expected there are a few things which need to be addressed. More questions about those issue to come. However my question for this forum is about the two small "balls" welded onto each side on the "A" frame tongue. I am assuming these are for the attachment of some sort of sway control. Since this is my first travel trailer I really don't know much about these. What kind of hitch should I purchase, and where. And what kind of sway bars are designed to utilize these tongue "balls" and do i get the sway bars?

Old 08-31-2009, 08:05 PM   #2
Rivet Master

1984 31' Excella
Norfolk , Virginia
A frame balls

Obviously its a boy trailer.
Seriously, if they are approximately 1 inch in diameter they are for the friction telescoping type anti sway devices such as the one pictured here.

Friction Sway Control 3400 : Trailer hitch bike rack and trailer hitches - etrailer.com

Beginner

Old 08-31-2009, 08:12 PM   #3
Moderator Emeritus

1964 26' Overlander
1978 Argosy Minuet 6.0 Metre
Anna , Illinois
Send a message via Yahoo to overlander64
A-frame balls

Greetings 64-Ovrlndr!

Welcome to the Forums and the world of Vintage Overlander ownership!

Quote:
Originally Posted by 64-Ovrlndr View Post