Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 02-19-2004, 08:00 PM   #1
3 Rivet Member

Will 2000 Dodge RAM 2500 with Cummins 5.9L tow A/S well?

I need some advice.

I was just down at the Dodge dealer this afternoon, looking at a 2000 Ram Truck 2500 with Quad Cab, 4x4, Short Bed, Automatic 4-Speed and 5.9L 24V Turbo Diesel*engine.

The Dodge people say this vehicle can tow 9450 pounds.

Is this a good tow vehicle for a Safari 28W? It seems like it would according to the A/S web site spec sheet, but I'm not very experienced with all the technical details of towing heavy loads. How reliable is the the Cummins 5.9L diesel? Anything else I should be concerned about on this truck before signing the paperwork?

Thanks!

- Charlie
Old 02-20-2004, 05:58 AM   #2
Rivet Master

The simple answer to you question is that it will tow it VERY well.

I am looking at new (to me) trucks also, and have been strongly considering the Dodge. Two things bother me about them - the ride height is very high, and the automatics have a very poor reputation. The six speed is reputed to be strong, however, and I do like the gear spacing.

Even so, if I buy new I am going with Chevy. Don't need a ladder to get into the cab, smooth Duramax diesel, and really slick Allison automatic.

But before you buy, talk to the salesmen over on the new truck side. I am finding it extremely difficult to justify the prices of used diesel trucks when the new ones have rebates, 0% financing, and in the case of the Dodge, both!

Mark
j54mark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2004, 06:44 AM   #3
3 Rivet Member

2005 19' Safari
West Palm Beach , Florida
Quote:
Originally posted by j54mark
The simple answer to you question is that it will tow it VERY well.