Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 06-22-2002, 02:45 AM   #1
2 Rivet Member

Wink Looking

Dear Sirs:
Greetings. I am learning about Airstreams travel trailers for purchase in the near future. I was hoping to get a new Bambi 19' and (per Airsteam advertising) tow it with an SUV. I have looked at Jeep Cherokees and Libertys. Jeep adnertising shows a tandem axle Airstream behind a cCherokee. Jeep claims they can meet tongue weight and GTW specs. but I am wondering if performance would be acceptable and not strain the vehicle to destruction. The Jeeps weigh approx 4000 lbs. and the Bambi is GTW 4500 lbs. I have very little towing experience an wonder if it would be safe on the highway. I intend to use at least an equalizer hitch with sway control. I do not like large vehicles and would oprefer something smaller than a suburban if it is reasonable. If anyone has an opinion about suspected performace it would be greatly appreciated.

Sincerely, Jay Iski
Jayiski@airmail.net
Jay_Iski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2002, 05:57 AM   #2
Patriotic

1973 23' Safari
North of Boston , Massachusetts
You'll probably be fine w/ such a small trailer....but check out the Dodge Durango. These are deceptively powerfull for their size. It looks like a small suv, but they use the same powertrains as their full-size truck cousins. I used to own a Dakota, which is what the durango is based on, (and this was before they had v-8's), and I can tell you, its a full size truck in a small package. Fully loaded, it handled just the same as when it was empty. (that's the rear-end, mostly....). Anyway, I just checked, and the dodge website says that the durango can tow "up to 7500 lbs", which is actually a little more than my full-size pickup. Its good to have extra in your tow vehicle, rather than max-out a smaller one. you never know...you might want to upgrade your trailer some day.....