Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Restoration, Repair & Parts Forums > Towing, Tow Vehicles & Hitches > Tow Vehicles
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 01-11-2013, 10:02 PM   #1
Rivet Master

2021 25' International
Full timer , Virginia
TV Transmissions - Automatic v Manual

My father has always been the practical type - what he owns he does for a reason, not a desire. The only vehicle he ever owned as an automatic was the TV for our 16' Trottwood trailer when I was growing up. I learned on manuals; I drive manuals - I am a manual driver.

I am reviewing my options for a tow vehicle. Despite some negative experiences in the past with both brands, I am considering the Dodge 2500 and Ford F250 lines (likely diesel) either current year new, or recent year certified used. I may look at the Toyota again, but unsure at this time. That discussion though is independent of this question.

I am curious to know, beyond fuel efficiency potential and additional things to break, if there is any reason to consider automatic transmissions in a modern technology tow vehicle? Do the modern automotive computer add anything to sensing and compensating for trailer tow experiences in an automatic transmission system, or is it simply the comfort aspect? I believe the Ford may carry an 8-gear automatic transmission now - which is likely for fuel economy; but again carries concerns about the effect of automatic short shifts up/down when towing a heavy trailer.

Thanks for your thoughts,

Ian Poulin
Richmond Va.
IanPoulin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2013, 10:23 PM   #2
Rivet Master

2012 25' Flying Cloud
Battle Lake , Minnesota