Old 10-20-2008, 12:49 AM   #1
2 Rivet Member

2007 25' International CCD FB
San Antonio , Texas
TV towing question setup

I have just purchased a 25 International FB OB and have towed it from the dealer down though the tenenssee hills though Alamaba and then back to San Antonio. The T/V is an 07 Chevy Silverado ext cab with a 5.3 gas and a 3.42 final drive. The truck was factory set up with a trailering package, locking rear Differential, and High Performance suspension. We towed the A/S over 2000 miles and for the occasional getting stuck behind a very slow moving truck with out the oportunity to pass, I began to smell something burning. Engine temp was fine, but the transmission temp got as high as 196, but quickly came down. We have always used the tow button on the end of the gear select lever, per dealers instructions.
Any way I felt it towed well, with out any noticable sway, or interfearence from large trucks, but I would like to reiterate, that I am new to to this, and might not know if I was undersized.
Other than that the vehicle towed great, got respectable gas mileage and was quite comfortable. I found that at higher speeds, I needed to keep reminding myself that I was towing a heavy Airstream.
Any suggestions, questions, or commments, would be very much appreciated. Incidendally, the maual says that this vehicle can tow up to 6800 lbs, but the dealer says this number is usually conservative. The A/S weighs in at 5400lbs so with another 1000 lbs of gear, and fluids, I am sure it is pushing the upper limits.
Thanks,
Barry

Old 10-20-2008, 05:43 AM   #2
Site Team

, Minnesota
Barry,

Glad to hear about your Airstream and hope you will have many years of great camping.

I'd definitely get that burning smell looked into.

I wouldn't trust what a dealer about conservative tow ratings. If anything, I think your rear end ratio may limit you to exactly what the book says, not a pound more.

Old 10-20-2008, 05:58 AM   #3
Silver Mist

1977 31' Sovereign