Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Restoration, Repair & Parts Forums > Towing, Tow Vehicles & Hitches > Tow Vehicles
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 08-16-2004, 10:03 PM   #1
34'Excella-Ext:82Int:2004

Trade up(?) from my Suburban to a Nissan Titan

NEED some advice - i've been restoring my airsteam for 2 years now, finally ready to tow...

Looking to change out my suburban for the Nissan Titan - the specs say it can pull 9,500lbs, my 33foot Excella weighs 8800. Suburban is always struggling -
The Titan specs are:
Engine liters
5.6 - V8, 4 valves per cylinder,
Power305 hp @ 4,900 rpm
Torque 379 lb-ft @ 3,600 rpm
Engine configuration....

I'd like to avoid a big dual axel rig, and it seems that the specs on the Nissan beat the Chevy & ford 1500/2500- 150...

Any advice would be appreciated. Dealers just want to sell the vehicle...
Atokad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2004, 10:13 PM   #2

Trade up(?) from my Suburban to a Nissan Titan

Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	big rig.jpg
Views:	369
Size:	39.2 KB
ID:	8379  
Attached Images

Old 08-16-2004, 10:43 PM   #3
Aluminut

2004 25' Safari
. , Illinois
Gotta tell ya, if your old Burb looked like it did in the pic, the Nissan is gonna be not even close to that fun. Are you even using weight distribution? Even my Impala SS w/ a Safari that has a 750lb hitch weight doesn't look like the pic in your sig. If an enclosed interior is what you need/are looking for, I'd get a 3/4 ton 'burb, and blow off the Nissan. Not cause the Nissan is a bad truck, but because what they say it can tow and what it SHOULD tow are tow different worlds.